2017 Mixed Media Journal

It’s a new year and that means a new journal for mixed media.  I stumbled on some bound handmade papers at Cargo in Portland.  They didn’t have covers, and came in a variety of sizes.  I picked up one that’s 7.5″ by 10″.  The pages are pretty thick, but very soft so they’ll need to be prepped with gesso before I use them.  I’m also planning to add some reinforcement at the folds as well to keep things from bleeding into the spine.

I created a cover with a couple pieces of matte board, some fabric, and gel medium.  Then I just glued the first and last pages of the book to the inside covers.  Easy!  This book is going to get very very fat as I work in it, so I created a closure with a button and some ribbon that will expand with the book.

Can’t wait to start filling it with new play!  I’ll post my work as it’s completed.

If you want to see more of what I do, more often, follow me on Instagram:  @dylanbug_

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

